How I started birding- A time for reflection

Birding, or birdwatching is an art in my opinion. It is a pleasure to see new species and just look at birds as they forage for food, or fly from one branch to another.

Let me tell you how I started birding. It all started when I was Primary 2, when I was 8 years old. I when to Sime Forest through Macritchie Reservoir Park. When I walked I then saw a greater racket tailed drongo. I know it was very common, but I was amazed. At that moment, I had already forgotten everything in the world. I just looked at it.

 I wasn’t prepared to take any action on birding yet. It was then after about a fortnight when I when Sime Forest again. This time, I went through Venus Drive to the ranger station, then to the tree-top walk. No, it was not what you are thinking right now, I did not see any birds there, partly because I’m scared of heights.

Then, I continued walking on till I reached Petaling trail. I walked till I reached Petaling hut. It was then, I saw the rarest bird I ever saw… Even till today-3 years later. I saw a white rumped shama. I looked at it and heard it sing. It was beautiful.

In a glimpse of an eye, 3 years has past. Now, I love birding at Sime forest! The previous time I went, I went from Macritchie reservoir park all the way to Jelutong tower! It was so fun. I even saw the orange bellied flowerpecker there.

 

The orange bellied flowerpecker I saw in Sime Forest.

3 Responses to How I started birding- A time for reflection

  1. Mad Bluebird says:

    I live here in NORTHERN CALIFORNIA i watched a pair of WESTERN KINGBIRDS case a RED TAILED HAWK

  2. Mad Bluebird says:

    I live here in NORTHERN CALIFORNIA i watched a pair of WESTERN KINGBIRDS case a RED TAILED HAWK right over the down town area of ETNA where i live and on the day after a football game the KILLDEER,ROBINS and BLACKBIRDS gather to forage for insects and worms

  3. Sometimes the steadiest of hands aren’t steady enough.

Leave a Reply

