Sime forest trip 8.2.08 Part 2

This is the second part of my Sime forest trip on 8.2.08. For the first part, go to https://birdsrule.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/sime-forest-trip-8208-part-1/ before reading this entry.

After seeing the woodpecker, I went on, seeing no m0re birds all the way to the road beside the country club, though occasionally seeing birds darting by.

They were the size of sunbirds, but were to small for me to see in detail as I do not have a binoculars and my 10x optical zoom digital camera was not near enough. That was the problem with not having a camera with a very high optical zoom. If you look at my bird gallery, you would see that most of the pictures are digitally zoomed in, like the white bellied sea eagle picture. It is quite easy to photograph a bird in the garden but in the forest, the bird is high up in the tree.

Walking along the road towards the ranger station, I saw a tree with many pigeons. If you are a bird photographer, that should be a very good place to take photos. The tree is not blocked by anything from where you are as it is beside the road, and the tree was flowering, so it attracted many pigeons. I saw a bird that I could not identify.

 

It could be a thick billed pigeon or a pink necked pigeon.

I also saw a bird that I am positive is a thick billed pigeon

 

We reached the ranger station a while after that.

At the ranger station, I saw a few small birds that I could not identify as I could not see the details of it. It was very irritating when I tried to zoom into the bird but halfway, I reached my full zoom.

At the treetop walk itself, I only saw flock Philippine glossy starling, which I was a feat as I usually do not see anything as I am hardly looking at the trees around (I am scared of heights). I guess it is a good place to bird as you are very high up and birds will be very near to you.

After that we went to Jelutong tower, where I did not see any birds.

When I was walking out of the forest to Venus Drive car-park, I encountered a black dog, it was a short distance away from me. It came out of the undergrowth and started barking furiously. I was scared by the sudden arrival of the dog that I screamed.

I wonder how did that dog come here. I wonder if it is native to Singapore. This is the second time I saw it. The first time was at Bishan Park canal, after the MRT depot. If you know anything about it, feel free to comment on this entry.

 

Picture I took of the black dog in Bishan canal

I only saw a few birds in Sime Forest and wish to know how R Subaraj and the other birders see so many birds in the forest. I suppose I would need more experience and be sharper. In the past, I would see nothing, then one species, then two species of birds. I guess I just need to be more “bird-sensitive”!

Also, I must learn how to take clear photos. I usually cannot take shots properly. It is to dark and lacks if I use program mode (P), and it is bright and blurry sometimes when I use Auto mode.

4 Responses to Sime forest trip 8.2.08 Part 2

  1. apartment rentals fuerteventura…

    Wednesday i got up early and headed out to explore the local area for trails. After coming accross several private proprty no entry signs in the woods, i gave up and decided to work the bike hard on the hills and bitumen of Elbouf, the village next to …

  2. kenny says:

    which part of bishan park is it???

  3. We all know what those are. And when it comes to binoculars it’s no different.

  4. Huang JH says:

    Hi Kenny,
    It is along the canal to bradell road

Leave a Reply

